The Day After – Should I Stay or Should I Go.

On the one hand, I, unlike many others, have the option to leave a country that clearly doesn’t want me or anyone that looks like me around.On the other hand, this is MY country. My mother literally fought for this country. My family is a family of military and police officers who have bleed for this country, that’s not even counting Ron‘s side of the family.

Leaving feels like a cop-out, it feels like letting terrorist win – because Drumpf and his supporters are just that, terrorist, just look at the fear and anxiety POC and the LGBTQ community have and tell me that’s not terror. The fact that my husband has been in fear for my safety ever since Drumpf got the nomination is a form of terror.

So here we are, the day after America decided to let hatred win and elect a man supported by the KKK and the American Nazi Party become its President, and elect a man who believes women should be punished for having control over their own bodies, that electroshock therapy will ‘cure’ people of their gayness become VP.

Do we, the citizens of this country who truly believe that this is the land of the free and the home of the brave, that all men are created equal leave? Or do we stay? Do we fight, do we withdraw our economic, political and spiritual support (because these so called-evangelical ‘Christians’ come from somewhere) and funnel our money and our time towards our communities, our businesses, our education and our leaders.

It’s a tough decision, one that I’m struggling with because I want to respect my husband’s wishes for my safety and security but at the same time the very thought of letting these thugs and terrorist have control fills me with rage.

I don’t know what I plan to do but to all my family, biological and spiritual, to all my LGBTQ/POC brothers and sisters, I love you, you are valued, we will get through this, one way or another.

Leave a Reply

