To you Cosplay, from a Black Cosplayer

This is brilliant.

Pop Culture Uncovered

Dear Cosplay,

It’s me again. I just felt the need to sit down and talk to you about something that has been bothering me lately. No, I’m not mad at you, but I’m just thinking out loud about our relationship.

I was scrolling through my Facebook feed again and I saw yet another cosplayer who isn’t black, or brown, doing blackface. I see my friends trying to tell them that our skin isn’t a costume, but instead of being heard they’re getting yelled at by the person doing it AND by people who think it’s okay to wear brown makeup for the sake of accuracy. What is going on Cosplay? Why is this happening again?

How can I tell people, who don’t live in this skin, that it isn’t easy being black ESPECIALLY when I throw you, Cosplay, into the mix? How can I say that because I’m in this…

View original post 949 more words

Leave a Reply

